That One Question

Daily writing prompt
What is one question you hate to be asked? Explain.

I never realized this was a problem to me until recently, but I hate being asked what I do for a living.

This might seem weird, especially for a person who is proud of their career like me – but I have a valid reason (I think). As a young black woman, people have a benchmark for the respect they give me based on the color of my skin and my gender. But when I start talking and people realize that I have an actual brain, then they will ask me what I do for a living as a way to set a new benchmark for their treatment of me.

This has now made me hate being asked what I do for a living and especially in a social setting where I know this holds no real value to the matters at hand!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started