Self-Perception

Daily writing prompt
Describe one positive change you have made in your life.

The one positive change I have made in my life is SELF-PERCEPTION!
Self-perception is the view that a person has of themselves, the way they perceive their feelings and characteristics. Self-perception can be directly tied to self-esteem, or the way that they feel about themselves internally

The self-perception theory developed by Daryl Bem argues that people become aware of certain attitudes by observing their own behavior.

When I entered high school, I was a reserved and timid girl. I used to believe that there was something wrong with me, and I was convinced that changing my appearance would make others accept me. However, I soon realized that my lack of confidence and low self-esteem were the real barriers isolating me from my peers. After some introspection, I understood that I needed to improve my self-perception and cultivate a more positive self-image.

Improving my self-perception demanded a great deal of time and effort from my side. By practicing self-affirmation, setting and achieving goals, surrounding myself with positive influences and energy, and engaging in activities that nurtured self-growth and self-care, I finally witnessed a transformation. Today I stand firm in my being and trust myself more. I have a clear understanding of who Nonhlanhla Mthethwa is and I try my best to not allow my attitude to affect how I see the world.

A negative self-perception can significantly impact a young woman in various ways. For me, it led to feelings of inadequacy, low self-esteem, and self-doubt, which hindering my ability to reach my full potential and achieve my goals. It influenced how I navigated the world and interacted with others, causing a lack of confidence and making me hesitant to speak up or assert myself, this in turn affected my ability to form healthy relationships. This perpetuated a cycle of self-doubt and reinforced negative stereotypes I faced as a young, black, female with acne and a small stature.

It is crucial for young women to focus on improving their self-perception through self-care, self-compassion, and seeking support from trusted individuals or professionals. Building a strong sense of self-worth and self-confidence can help them tackle challenges and flourish in a society that may not always recognize or validate their worth. One’s self-perception is defined by one’s self-concept, self-knowledge, self-esteem, and social self – and by targeting these you access your best self and unlock your full potential by changing your behaviors’ and attitude towards a lot of things.

Believe you can, and you are halfway there.” ~Theodore Roosevelt

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started